Bookishly October Unboxing

2016-11-18-12-37-14

Yes I know I am extremely late with this post but I have been so busy with the move I have not gotten the chance to open it, but here it is, better late than never.

Dont know what Bookishly is?

Bookishly is A surprise vintage paperback and delicious ground coffee through the post each month. You’ll receive a different 75g bag (4-5 cups) of freshly roasted medium ground coffee each month, along with a vintage book from our library. There’s no stationery in this version of the subscription.

2016-11-18-12-40-091

I ordered this because it a book subscription with coffee. You know I love Coffee. I knew the books were vintage too however I was disappointed that I couldn’t pick the genre, however I took a chance.

First I loved the coffee which is a Tanzania Kilimanjaro Peaberry. It’s the type of coffee that when you brew it causes the whole house to just warm up with the smells. It smells SOOOOO good, with Maple and Nutmeg. It taste good too!

I really liked the bookmark, I tend to collect bookmarks so this is a nice addition to my collection. Too bad it says Cocoa and not coffee.

2016-11-18-12-43-54

Book Synopsis (from GoodReads)

To Arthur Seaton, Key worker on a lathe in a Nottingham cycle factory, life is one long battle with authority. You don’t need to give Arthur more than one chance to do the Government or trick the foreman.

And when the day’s work is over, Arthur is off to the pubs, raring for adventure. He is a warrior of the bottle and the bedroom – his slogan is ‘If it’s going, it’s for me’ – for his aim is to cheat the world before it can cheat him. And never is the battle more fiercely joined than on Saturday night.

But Sunday morning is the time of reckoning, the time for facing up to life – the time, too, you run the risk of getting hooked!

Arthur is no exception.

The cover has a cool vintage look which I like. However I don’t buy books for the cover alone. Reading the synopsis just doesn’t suit my fancy. I think I will have this book just sitting in my to read pile until I finally just say ‘screw it’ and try to read it. I’m hoping the book turns out okay. I am a little disappointed in what I got. The book does have some wear and tear and it reminds of a book I can get at the library sales for a quarter.

I am going to give Bookishly one more month to make things right. It seems that the only reason to pay for the subscription is for the coffee, since they failed so horribly with the book. Maybe November’s bookishly would be a lot better.

 

Leave a Reply

